Four Schools - One College

HSC Announces 2016 Patrons and Builders  

HSC is delighted to announce the names of the HSC community members selected for induction as Patrons and Builders of Hillfield Strathallan College at the upcoming Builders’ Dinner on Tuesday, April 26, 2016 in Lawson Hall.

Awarded by the Board of Governors, Patron is the highest honour that HSC can bestow upon members of our community. Patrons are persons honoured for their extraordinary support of HSC, who act as trusted guardians of the College’s history, traditions and future directions.

Patrons are nominated at the sole discretion of the Head of College and are appointed by the Board of Governors.

Recognition as a Builder honours loyal and hard-working constituents who have made a sustained contribution to the College over time, and who have played major roles in the development of the College and its predecessors. All are individuals who have contributed in an outstanding manner to our success, by way of personal effort and/or financial support.

Builders are chosen by a selection committee consisting of current Builders, plus the Head of College as a non-voting member, and reflecting all of the College’s major stakeholder groups. New Builders are honoured at a celebratory dinner, which takes place every two years.

The following outstanding individuals will be recognized as Patrons of the College and new Builders of 2016:


Mr. Gary W. DeGroote ’74 (Alumnus, Former Parent and Former Governor, Former Chair of the Finance Committee, Corporation Life Member, Former Honorary Co-Chair of the Transformation HSC Campaign, inducted as HSC Builder 2006)

Mrs. Judith King-Siganski ’62 (Alumnus, Former Governor, Corporation Member, Former Alumni Association President, Former Trustee, Former Board Advisor, inducted as a Builder of HSC in 2010, Athletic Hall of Fame inductee 2011) 


Mr. Mark B. Hudson (Retired Faculty, Former Head of Senior School, Former Parent, Honorary non-voting member of the Corporation, inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame 2015) 

Mrs. Eeva Kastikainen-Jones (Former Parent, Former member of the Parents’ Guild, longtime volunteer with Parents of Alumni, and volunteer with the Alumni, Staff, Parent Musical) 

The Late Elizabeth Mills McKinney ’29 (Alumnus, Former Parent, Founding Member and first President of the Strathallan Old Girls’ Association, HSC’s oldest living alumnus at the time of her death in August 2015, Former Honorary non-voting Member of the HSC Corporation)

To reserve individual seats or a table, please click here or call 905-389-1367, ext. 153.  

We congratulate the individuals named above and, on behalf of the entire HSC community, express our heartfelt appreciation for their unfailing commitment and selfless dedication to the College.



Hillfield Strathallan College. 299 Fennell Avenue West, Hamilton, ON L9C 1G3 | Tel: (905) 389-1367